Exam 70-480 preparation continued …

With just under two weeks to go and it’s all full steam ahead for revision. I’m feeling generally confident at the moment, at least more confident than I was a few weeks ago. There are still a few areas which I need to look at such as remembering the exact syntax of some of the CSS3 tags such as with transforms, animations etc. I’ve been learning using HTML, Javascript and CSS in a few of my test projects and it’s truly amazing how much more you learn by doing than reading a bunch of theory. I always think that not only knowing and but being able to apply knowledge in a creative way is important.

I’ve also been discovering the nuances of the different web-browsers. Chrome and other webkit based browsers are generally my browser of choice. Mainly due to their rapid adoption of rapidly developing standards and also the user interface design which is minimalistic and easy to use.

I bought and downloaded the book ‘Training Guide: Programming in HTML5 with JavaScript and CSS3’ which is currently on early release for the 70-480. My initial impression is that this is a well written book which certainly gets you started on the subjects. I would however advise caution about using this book exclusively for the 70-480 exam as there are a lot of subjects which aren’t yet included from the 70-480 exam requirements including grid box, flex box, transformations, columns, animations, gradients, shadow and others. It also doesn’t talk about the new structure where you can use sections and articles to change the level of header tags. Such as an h1 tag inside a section will appear as an h2 tag. You’ll probably see quite a few comments in the errata which I’ve added.

For practising CSS3 I’ve been using Brackets.io lots as I can try out new things and watch how they effect the presentation of the page instantly in Webkit. For Javascript experiments I’ve been using Visual Studio 2012 as it has fantastic code completion support. There is also the feature of adding references to other Javascript files which makes code completion really fly, just put the following at the top of your code to reference another Javascript file ‘/// <reference path=”other.js”/>’ or create the file ‘_references.js’ containing all the Javascript files in your project and just reference ‘_references.js’ at the top of each of your Javascript files.

Although I haven’t even taken the 70-480 exam I already have my eyes set on the next goal of taking the next two exams which would get me the ‘Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD): Web Applications’ qualification.

Study continues …

Leave a Reply

